Q & A: CNN’s James Williams


Note: I interviewed James Williams, host of CNN’s in 24 Hours, during his recent Bangkok visit to shoot an upcoming episode. This Q&A feature was published in the June 2017 English & Thai digital editions of Premiere, the True Visions customer magazine.


 

James Williams has become a familiar face to CNN viewers in recent years — first as a presenter on CNN Business Traveller, and, since 2015, as the host of his own show, in 24 Hours.

Each month, the Australia-born Williams and his film crew head off to another great city, where they’ll uncover its most exciting travel experiences and meet the locals who know the city best.

in 24 Hours comes to Bangkok

Williams brings the show to Bangkok for the first time later this month; Bangkok in 24 Hours will air Wednesday, 7 June at 16:30 pm on CNN. While filming in Bangkok, the 33-year-old Williams took time out to meet with True Visions. Here are highlights from the interview.

True Visions: Is this your first visit to Thailand?

Close-up photo of CNN International host James Williams
James Williams

James Williams: No, I’ve actually spent quite a bit of time in Thailand during the past 15 years or so. I started coming here when I was 18, straight out of school. But being in Bangkok to shoot the episode has been an amazing experience for me. I get a great ‘insider’s look’ at Bangkok up close. I’ve met some fascinating people who are doing exciting things and moving the city forward — and the CNN name opens a lot of doors!

TV: Which places, people and experiences will you be featuring on the Bangkok episode?

JW: We start the day at Wat Pho, where I’m given an amazing private tour by the same monk who took President Obama around the temple several years ago.

After Wat Pho I meet the Thai rock star and actor Krissada Sukosol Clapp, whose family owns the Siam Hotel. You will get to watch me get roughed up during a private Muay Thai lesson inside the hotel’s boxing ring.

Later I head over to the COMO Metropolitan Hotel for dinner at Nahm. It’s been voted the best Thai restaurant in all of Asia. After a fantastic meal, Nahm’s 2-star-Michelin chef Prin Polsuk takes me out on a late-night search for Bangkok’s best street food — some of the best food I’ve ever had!

TV: What are you planning for future episodes of the show?

JW: After Bangkok, our next destination is Miami. Then I’d love to do more cities in Asia, especially Tokyo, Mumbai and Bali. Las Vegas would be great, too!

TV: You do a lot of exciting, even scary things on the show, like shark cage diving in Capetown. Is there anything that scares you?

JW: I’ve always been pretty willing to try just about anything. I got my skydiving license while living in London. I’ve been on some ‘zero gravity’ flights. And I got to take part in astronaut training with the Russian cosmonauts.

I love all that kind of stuff. But if there’s one thing that scares me, it’s snakes. I can’t even look at one!

TV: You’re in your second season hosting in 24 Hours. Are you enjoying it so far?

JW:  It can be hard work, but it’s definitely one of the best jobs in the world!

Leave a comment